MEND-Calls-For-The-Scrapping-Of-Amnesty-Programme-Condemns-Activities-Of-Niger-Delta-Avengers MEND Names 7-Member Team to Dialogue With FG news

The Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta (MEND) has named a 7-member team to be led by former Minister of Petroleum, Mr Odein Ajumogobia, to dialogue with the Federal Government.

MEND`s Spokesman Jomo Gbomo, said in an online statement on Monday that other members of the group, tagged, “Aaron Team 2”, are Bismark Rewane (Delta) and Chief Florence Ita-Giwa (Cross River).

The rest are Timipa Jenkins Okponipere (Bayelsa), Ibanga Isine (Akwa Ibom), Ledum Mitee (Rivers) and Lawson Omokhodion (Edo ).

Gbomo said the team, whose task is to dialogue with the Federal Government on the immediate, medium and long-term future of the Niger Delta region, was made up of patriotic and selfless men and women with good character drawn from different parts of the region.

He recalled that MEND on May 30, 2014, declared a ceasefire on attacks against the nation`s key economic and strategic interests, adding that the decision was in response to former President Goodluck Jonathan`s Democracy Day speech.

“Our message to the Niger Delta Avengers (NDA) is simple: The Niger Delta struggle is beyond attacks on oil installations.

“If indeed your cause is to avenge the injustice done to the Niger Delta region; then, we urge you to ceasefire and join us to the table of negotiation with the Federal Government.

“Otherwise, the Niger Delta struggle shall be hijacked, once again by selfish interests for their own personal aggrandizement,” Gbomo said.